Prime Numbers on the Backburner….


Most of my previous posts dealt with patterns in prime numbers, which is a topic that attracted a lot of my spare time over the past year. I need to get back to interests that align more closely with my actual work and related research interests. I will come back to prime numbers from time to time as time allows.

I am presently working on the following specific interests outside the regular day job, but generally related to the day job:

– development of progressive failure in sensitive clay
– geostatistical modelling of the distribution of frozen ground at a discontinuous permafrost site in central Yukon, northern Canada
– engineering geology and geotechnical characterization of interesting geological setting at same site in central Yukon, related to absence of glacial erosion in 3-800,000 years, a geological oddity in Canada
– uncertainties in knowledge about large earth slides along Thompson River in south central British Columbia
– assessment of risk to property and human life associated with specific hazards due to large landslides in sensitive clay in eastern Canada
– practical considerations in landslide susceptibility modelling using statistical methods
– landslide susceptibility and landslide risk in Saint Lucia
– development of proxies for population density for use in risk analysis from more readily available spatial data
– fractal considerations in landslide distribution in space and time
– challenges in some selected standard and emerging analytical methods in geotechnique, including limit equilibrium slope stability analysis, limit states design and probabilistic methods
– philosophical discussion of geotechnical uncertainty
– fractal geometry in relation to geotechnique, some introductory concepts

I am working on many of these in somewhat random fashion and will try to provide occasional updates as interesting developments occur.

About petequinn

I'm a Canadian geotechnical engineer specializing in the study of landslides. I started this page to discuss some mathematical topics that interest me, initially this involved mostly prime numbers, but more recently I've diverted focus back to a number of topics of interest in geotechnique, geographic information systems and risk. I completed undergraduate training in engineering physics at Royal Military College (Kingston, Ontario), did a masters degree in civil (geotechnical) engineering at University of British Columbia (Vancouver), and doctorate in geological engineering at Queen's University (Kingston). I was a military engineer for several years at the beginning of my career, and did design and construction work across Canada and abroad. I've worked a few years for the federal government managing large environmental clean up projects in Canada's arctic, and I've worked across Canada, on both coasts and in the middle, as a consulting geotechnical engineer. My work has taken me everywhere in Canada's north, to most major Canadian cities and many small Canadian towns, and to Alaska, Chile, Bermuda, the Caribbean, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Bosnia, and Croatia. My main "hobby" is competitive distance running, which I may write about in future.
This entry was posted in Prime Numbers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

