Sieving by 43


Unfortunately these images are likely to be impossible to read on screen, but I will include the source file also for reference.

The following shows the distribution of primes (shown as “P” for those beyond 43, or as the primes to 43 for their first instances) and non-primes (lowest prime factor shown) to 43^2 (highlighted to 43^2 – 1), with a few more lines of non-primes and “possible primes” (shown as “PPP”):


The point of posting these is to allow further contemplation of patterns of elimination with a larger set of numbers.

Still nothing particularly brilliant to offer. 🙂

Here’s a pdf of the source images: 43 x 43

About petequinn

I'm a Canadian geotechnical engineer specializing in the study of landslides. I started this page to discuss some mathematical topics that interest me, initially this involved mostly prime numbers, but more recently I've diverted focus back to a number of topics of interest in geotechnique, geographic information systems and risk. I completed undergraduate training in engineering physics at Royal Military College (Kingston, Ontario), did a masters degree in civil (geotechnical) engineering at University of British Columbia (Vancouver), and doctorate in geological engineering at Queen's University (Kingston). I was a military engineer for several years at the beginning of my career, and did design and construction work across Canada and abroad. I've worked a few years for the federal government managing large environmental clean up projects in Canada's arctic, and I've worked across Canada, on both coasts and in the middle, as a consulting geotechnical engineer. My work has taken me everywhere in Canada's north, to most major Canadian cities and many small Canadian towns, and to Alaska, Chile, Bermuda, the Caribbean, Germany, Norway, Sweden, Bosnia, and Croatia. My main "hobby" is competitive distance running, which I may write about in future.
This entry was posted in Prime Numbers, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

