3 Responses to Sensitive clay landslide risk in eastern Canada (DRAFT paper)

  1. Very interesting.
    Just a small precision abour Morin : Landslip in Saint-thuribe, Portneuf, Canada produced in 1898 instead of 1918. 1 Fatality: Regina Douville
    The house was rebuilt in 1899.
    I lived exactly to this place during more than 20 years.
    Thank you

    • petequinn says:

      Thanks for the correction Sylvain! I believe I made that typo because one of the primary references describing that landslide is from 1918. Still, I should have been more careful, and appreciate you catching the error.

      Cheers,

      Pete

  2. Great research…I saw how clay can slide away on my land on Black Creek in Larose Forest. I am concerned for our rental home in Fallingbrook Orleans when I look how they filled in areas over the years, for development, when I researched aerial photography online. I suspect it is an area where the latest rain will overwhelm the soils’ capacity to remain stable.

Leave a Reply

